Area Statistics

Historical Museum

Ellensburg Demographics and Information – Ellensburg is the County Seat for Kittitas County. Other communities in Kittitas County include Cle Elum, Easton, Kittitas, Ronald, Roslyn, Snoqualmie Pass, South Cle Elum, Thorp, Vantage, Liberty, Suncadia, Teanaway, and Thrall.

Population (2017-2018 US Census): 18,174
Kittitas County Population: 40, 915
Gender: 50.32% Male
, 49.7% Female, Median: age: 23

Median Household Income (2017-2018): $28,341
Median House Value (2017-2018): $260,600


Largest Employers

Central Washington University: 1,438
Kittitas Valley Community Hospital: 470
Ellensburg School District: 380
Kittitas County: 363
Anderson Hay and Grain: 240
Elmview: 200
Fred Meyer, Ellensburg: 198
City of Ellensburg: 150
Twin City Foods, Inc.: 125
Kittitas Valley Health and Rehab: 100


The City of Ellensburg uses the Manager/Council form of government with a City Manager hired by the City Council. The seven-member City Council is elected at large and serve 4-year terms. The City Council elects a Mayor and Deputy Mayor from the Council to serve 2-year terms. The Council meets the first and third Monday of each month, 7:00 pm, in the City Council Chambers at City Hall.
• City Manager: John Akers
• Position 1: Jill Scheffer
• Position 2: Nicole Klauss
• Position 3: Nancy Goodloe
• Position 4: Nancy Lillquist
• Position 5: David Miller
• Position 6: Mary Morgan
• Position 7: Bruce Tabb (Mayor)

State Government – Ellensburg is in the 13th district.
• State Senator Judy Warnick (R)
• Representative Tom Dent (R)
• Representative Matt Manweller (R)

Federal Representatives – as of 2011, Ellensburg is in the 8th Congressional district
• Representative Dave Reichert (R)



Ellensburg Washington Climate